Ice Cap-less

I was immensely bugged after reading an article last week regarding global warming. It’s not that I don’t know about it; people like me who wrap myself up within a kind of believable safe world, notices perils at lurking corners but choose to avoid looking at it headlong. So when I really took time to face the issue, the slap stung!

For the 1st time in a few million years, it is possible for ships to cross the Arctic Ocean without any obstruction of ice. The ice cap, the white topping on top of earth head is fast melting; 1/3 had melted and will possibly disappear in relatively no time (what much is there in 1 year nowadays!). Click here and here for 2 of many articles I read recently.

Here’re satellite views I obtained from the articles/web…

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
1979

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
2003

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
2007

Notice the northwest sea passage opening up rapidly? Scary, huh?!

Leaving the issue to be totally sorted out by bickering politicos and big shot brutes is too optimistic to my liking. So, what little contribution you can offer to help our ailing earth, just do! Personally, I appreciate it, really. That 1 individual effort counts until humankind as a collective finally is smart enough to work together.

2 Responses

  1. it’s so scary. :((

  2. yea, even scarier is that if nothing is done, we’ll be out of topping in 30 years time. 😮

Leave a comment